Postcards from Raglan

One of the things I love most about Summer holidays (and the wonderful fact of the matter is that as teachers we enjoy fantastically long ones) is that S. and I have a chance to reflect on the year that’s been, plan for the year ahead and, most importantly, enjoy spending time with our families.

Driving up North for the Summer

Driving up North for the Summer

We have a summer ritual that involves driving north up the country to spend time with both families over Christmas and New Year’s. We decided to begin our trip this year with a couple of days by ourselves in Raglan. I spent a fair bit of time in Raglan as a teenager and I still have a special spot in my heart for this alternative little beach town.

The funky earth dome we stayed in at Solscape - jut big enough for a double bed and a cushion-filled mezzanine.

The funky earth dome we stayed in at Solscape – jut big enough for a double bed and a cushion-filled mezzanine.

We stayed in a gorgeous little earth dome at the highly eclectic Solscape Retreats near Manu Bay, enjoyed beautiful beach walks and extremely tasty food. Below are some snapshots (via instagram) of our days in Raglan as well as some of the thoughts Raglan evoked during our short wee visit.

The far shore at the harbour mouth

The far shore at the harbour mouth

The far harbour shore has always called to me.

Spoken to me of other.

Wild, desolate.

The dark sweeping beaches curve upwards touching soft tussock which crests each sand dune. The yellow-green of the hills beyond, undulating gently towards the sky.

Raglan is the first place where I had any real sense of place. The visceral sense of time and land, sea and sky melded together. I think Raglan was the first place I felt I could belong to, the first place I felt could live inside me and get under my skin.

But it was that shoreline, the hills and the tussock grass that whispered in the wind. Telling of adventure, sending me seeking.

Sun-love

Sun-love

Maybe Raglan was never meant to be home, just the catalyst that sent me searching for my own home. The place that could be both mine and my family’s. I like bringing S. back here to see it. I know she feels the soul of this place. Probably much more purely than I do, overlaid as my sense of this place is with memory. I can imagine bringing our children here one day.

Wainamu beach at the Harbour Mouth

Wainamu beach at the Harbour Mouth

Our favourite organic cafe.

Our favourite organic cafe.

As is to be expected I am taking photos of our travels and will endeavour to post a few more over the next week or two, but after all it is the height of summer and there are many books a-calling.

After an amazing 10 days filled with lots of laughter with S.’s family in Auckland, we head tomorrow for the Coromandel and another 10 days with my family.

B.

2 thoughts on “Postcards from Raglan

  1. Safe travels, S and B. I hope you return with souls fresh and ready for another year! PS. Glad I’ve found you on instagram, B, your photos are lovely :-)

Leave a Reply

