Dreaming of Ballet

I spent most of my teenage years dancing. Ballet, jazz, contemporary, you name it, I did it. I stopped dancing shortly before I moved to Wellington. Having danced for so many years I was a bit worn out by it all. I tried a couple of times to pick it up again but it never felt right. It wasn’t until last year when I started teaching dance to my students at school that I realised just how much I missed my own dancing. So I picked up a contemporary dance class. It was wonderful! I hadn’t realised how much I missed it. At the end of the year I even had the chance to perform again. But what I’m really lusting after is ballet.

Much though I love contemporary, ballet was my first love. I begged my mother to let me start and from there I never looked back. Of course I was never aiming to be a professional dancer, but I loved the structure and the rhythm of my ballet classes and I loved being on stage. And lately I’ve been really wanting to get back to it. And this year is the year. I tried a few classes again last year and I think I found a fit with a great studio that will let me start working on my associate exams so that I can qualify as a teacher in the British Ballet Syllabus. So this year one of my goals is dig out my pointe shoes, and start dancing. I can’t wait!

B.

2 thoughts on “Dreaming of Ballet

  1. B. not sure if you have heard of it but you should look into Raising the Barre, they have adult classes in Wellywood and its run by a friend of mine. The only bummer is that lots of the classes tend to be during school time but you might find some that suit. They get amazing teachers, choreographers and dancers so hit them up, you will be glad you did! They have a facebook page…have fun!

  2. Actually I’m currently doing a floor barre class with them at the moment. I’m taking syllabus specific classes at another studio, but definitely keen to try some of the other raising the barre classes. I’m recovering from a bad injury at the moment, but definitely once I’m able to do more than plies and tendus I plan to have a go.

Leave a Reply

