Cultivating Space

The mountains and Lake Wakatipu on our recent trip to Queenstown. The physical embodiment of opening space.

I recently made a big change in my life. I stepped down from a board which I had been on for five years. It was the board of an organisation I loved very dearly and still have tremendous respect for. But I had come to realise that it was taking more of my time than I had to give. As a teacher, my life is busy enough just with work, added to this the responsibility of being on a national board and I just wasn’t getting the time I wanted to be at home with my wife. I also hate not being able to do justice to something I have committed to.

So I made the BIG decision to step down. Early. Before my term was finished. And although it caused some controversy, I know that it was the right thing to. The right thing to do for me – I have more time to spend nurturing my family and the mental and emotional space to pursue some passions of my own. And the right thing for the organisation – it was time to let new people step forward and take things in exciting new directions. Still, even though I knew in my heart it was the right thing to do to step down, it wasn’t all that easy. I had to take a leap of faith, and trust that there were other people who would be able to step into my shoes. I had to say goodbye to some very special people. And I had to have the courage to walk away from what was familiar in order to be ready for the next adventures waiting around the corner. Sometimes you just have to trust that it will work out because it is the right thing for you at this moment. Trust that there are other people who will step forward, that there will be new opportunities for me, that I have made the made the right decision.

Having stepped down, it now feels like there is a new sense of space growing in my life at the moment, and I’m loving this. I have time to dance again, I have time to ground myself more fully in my home, and I have time to write and blog again.  My wife and are starting to plan new projects and even have time for wee adventures – like our recent one to Queenstown. Actually, the landscape in and around Queenstown felt like the perfect backdrop for this change in my life. Despite being very much an alpine area, there is such a feeling of openness in the landscape that really captures the essence of that space-full feeling. Not to mention, it was looking gorgeous in all its Autumn splendor.

I am anticipating with great excitement having time to write again, and S. and I are looking forward to exploring how we can develop and use this space to share our lives and the things that are important to us and interact with you.

What about you? Has there been a time you’ve made a leap and just trusted that things will fall into place?

B.

Leave a Reply

