Unloved but Beautiful

A while ago on Twitter I cam across a thought provoking question from @zen_moments. Their question was this:

Do you ever stop and notice the poor unloved places in the world as we hurry through?

This question led me to thinking about some of the places I saw in Malaysia when we were on our honeymoon there last year. I took a lot of photos while I was over there and some of the pictures I love best are the seemingly unnoticed, unloved places around the city.

Windows

Street in Chinatown

Chinatown Doorways

There is an unusual charm to these scenes that speaks to me of the beauty in the mundane and everyday, a kind of undeclared beauty in these scenes that is still waiting to be discovered. Much like the Japanese notion of Wabi Sabi there is a sense of beauty in the imperfect and incomplete that I love about these images.
B.

Leave a Reply

