Life-changing Books

It’s wonderful to finally have time to sit down and write. A while ago I saved a whole lot of draft titles – ideas, topics to come back to. Today this one jumped out at me.

There are so many books that I love and have loved, so many books that have meant something to me, but there are also some that are life changing. Here a few of the books that have impacted me profoundly in some way.

The Castle of Adventure by Enid Blyton was the first book that really got me hooked on reading.

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf was my first introduction to feminist writing. It’s been one of my favourite books since I was about 15.

The Lord of the Rings by JRR Tolkien took me forever to read but introduced me to richness of language and the beauty in the many poems and songs that fill the book.

An Introduction to Sociolinguistics by Janet Holmes introduced me to the power of language as an undergrad student.

Under the Tuscan Sun and A Year in the World by Frances Mayes introduced me to travel writing and the way prose can be melded into poetry.

The Waves and Orlando by Virginia Woolf showed me how language can be broken and reformed to make something wholly unique and original.

Celebrating the Southern Seasons by Juliet Batten first introduced me to the beginnings of a druid path, walking in turn with the seasons.

A Cup of Sunlight by Juliet Batten showed me the path to mindfulness.

Of course having started this list, I now realise that every book I’ve read has changed me slightly, but I guess you have to draw the line somewhere.

B.

Leave a Reply

