A Purple Pinafore

When we found out I was pregnant, I was very excited to start making things for our baby – to add to the wee collection I’d already made as ‘practice’! I was secretly drawn to the idea of having a daughter to sew for, for the purely practical reason of imagining that dresses were fairly easy to make. Luckily for T., I soon discovered that trousers are exceedingly straightforward sewing!

I have still had a tiny hankering to make something pretty for a little girl with a gorgeous Stitchbird print I picked up at the Underground Market a few years ago.

IMG_2548

T.’s little friend E. turned one last week, and I had great pleasure pulling this pinafore together for her.

IMG_2576 IMG_2574

The pattern came from here and the main fabric is purple denim. I was quite excited to also have the opportunity to try out self covering buttons for the first time 🙂

IMG_2578

S.

One thought on “A Purple Pinafore

Leave a Reply

